Drum roll please > the Apprentice of the Year finalists are ...

14 March, 2013

Five contenders from a diverse range of businesses will vie for the print industry Apprentice of the Year Award, sponsored by ICON Digital Printing Papers, in May.

The five finalists were selected from a group comprising 12 semi-finalists. This group was selected from all those who completed training in 2012.

The five finalists will now submit further information and attend an interview before the winner of the Apprentice of the Year Award is announced at the NZ Pride In Print Awards on 3 May 2013.

The Apprentice of the Year finalists will also receive an award and prize at the PrintNZ Training Apprentice Awards on 2 May 2013 in Wellington. The Apprentice Awards will take place as a high profile part of the PrintNZ Conference Opening Dinner.

The following supporting organisations generously support the Apprentice Awards event:  Blue Print Imaging, Yoobee School of Design, Newspaper Publishers’ Association, Print Finishers Association, PrintNZ and the New Zealand Paper Forum.

Apprentice of the Year finalists:

  • Nicholas Gribble (Digital Processes for Print)
    Licensys NZ Holdings, Auckland

  • Michael Brown (Binding & Finishing)
    APN Print, Tauranga

  • Conrad Vaney (Reel-fed Printing)
    MR Print Group, Hastings

  • Shane Baskiville (Reel-fed Printing)
    APN Print, Ellerslie

  • Regan Quaife (Screen Printing)
    Commercial Signs Print & Plastic, Tauranga

Top Management Trainee Award

The Top Management Trainee Award recognises the achievements of the top trainee that completed the Diploma in Print Management qualification during 2012. This award is kindly sponsored by Trust4Skills.

The finalists for this award are:

  • Shelly Fawcett – Format, Petone
  • Karyn Wilson – Printable Solutions, Christchurch
  • Cody Ellis – The Label Professionals, Christchurch
  • Samuel Donaldson – Screen Printing Solutions, Hamilton

 Workplace Trainer Award

The Workplace Trainer Award recognises an individual who has made a real difference in terms of promoting and supporting workplace training.

The finalists for this award are:

  • Graeme Challis, Amcor Cartons Australasia
  • Mike Horne, Auckland Community Print (Fairfax)
  • Clinton Sampson, Interpac Packaging

Company Training Award

The Company Training Award recognises a company that promotes a training culture within their workplace.

The finalists for this award are:

  • APN Print New Zealand
  • Auckland Community Print (Fairfax)
  • Amcor Cartons Australasia

Thank you to the companies who submitted their applications.